Starfish Chapter 4.2 – Pinky Swear

anchor-bay-beach-1028447quote66

Neon circles break through black fog. The harder I press my eyelids together, the more circles come. White light. I can’t fight it. I try to open my eyes, crusted shut, and am blinded by brightness.

My brain is a bruised peach.

Jackhammers outside, cracking through granite. And cars honking. I focus. Cars honking at traffic lights and jackhammers cracking through granite. Beeping monitors.

The stitches across my throat and face fire up like cast iron branding when I try to gulp. My trachea narrows and it feels like I’m choking.

I wiggle my toes. Pinpricks.

“Frankie.” A familiar voice floats around in the yolks of my mind. Wrinkly palms rest on my forehead. “Your eyes are fluttering. Are you awake?”


Chapter 4.2, now up on Wattpad!

Click here to read it.

Leave a comment